Agenda and draft minutes

COVID-19 Interim Measures Group - Wednesday 1st April 2020 1.30 pm

Venue: Microsoft Teams Meeting

No. Item


Designations of Officers Under the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (England) Regulations 2020 pdf icon PDF 211 KB

To consider the report of the Director of Service Delivery, (copy enclosed).


The Group considered the report of the Director of Service Delivery seeking to designate Officers of the Council to enforce the new Regulations made on Thursday 26 March 2020 to bring in emergency restrictions for England, under the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (England) Regulations 2020.


The Senior Solicitor presented the report and provided background information to the new Regulations that had come into force.  The Director of Service Delivery advised that in addition to those Officer detailed in the report he wished to add Michael Johnson, Lead Specialist Development Management and Matt Leigh, Lead Specialist Place.


In response to questions raised the Director of Service Delivery explained that the designated Officers would initially not have contact with persons and should they be required to the Council had robust guidance in place to keep the social distancing requirements.  Councillor A S Fluker commented that he was supportive of the proposal but sought to ensure that the Council protected staff and operated in discretion. 


The Interim Director of Resources reported that the Council was keeping a record of any additional costs which could be attributed to COVID-19 but criteria was outstanding from the Government regarding funding this.


Taking the above discussions into account the Director of Strategy, Performance and Governance RESOLVED that:


(i)              the following Officers of the Council are designated to enforce the Health Protection (Coronavirus, Restrictions) (England) Regulations 2020;


Environmental Health: Gillian Gibson, Sarah Turbutt, Helen Boutwell, David Cant, John Fairweather, Ellen Barkley, Pauline Ebling, Damien Ghela


Community Engagement Team: Jim Brunt, Ben Chapman, Neil Gardiner, Matthew Frost, Gary Dyer, Lee Williams, Pat Mackshea, Nicola Syder and Adrian Rayner


Planning Services: Michael Johnson and Matt Leigh.


(ii)            additionally any other Officers that subsequently become part of the above teams be designated for enforcement of the Regulations as set out in (i) above;


(iii)          in relation to (i) and (ii) above the Council will ensure the protection and safety of staff (in accordance with current procedures) and Officers will adopt a conscientious approach prior to issuing a fixed penalty notice in relation to the above Regulations.