Decision details

Resignation of Councillor B E Harker and Associated Representations

Decision Maker: Council

Decision status: For Determination

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: No


The Council considered the report of the Director of Strategy, Performance and Governance seeking an agreed approach associated with the vacancies created as a result of Councillor B E Harker’s resignation as a District Councillor.


The report set out proposed arrangements to fill the seat Councillor Harker had vacated on Heybridge Basin[1] Parish Council and proposal to appoint an additional Member to the Parish Council.  In response to the proposed additional Member it was noted that Mr Keith Lawson had been nominated by the Parish Council.


The Leader of the Council moved the recommendation set out in the report and this was duly seconded.


In response to a proposal from Councillor M R Edwards it was suggested that recommendation (i) be amended to include the name of the nominated candidate (Mr Keith Lawson).  This was duly seconded.


Councillor Mrs P A Channer declared an interest in this item of business as she knew Mr Lawson.


In accordance with Procedure Rule No. 13 (3) Councillor C Morris requested a recorded vote.  This was duly seconded.


The Chairman then put the amended recommendation (i) and recommendations (ii) and (iii) as set out in the report to the Council.  In accordance with the earlier request for a recorded vote, the voting was as follows:


For the recommendation:

Councillors E L Bamford, Miss A M Beale, B S Beale, V J Bell, Mrs P A Channer, R P F Dewick, M F L Durham, M R Edwards, Mrs J L Fleming, M S Heard, M W Helm, A L Hull, K W Jarvis, J V Keyes, K M H Lagan, C Mayes, C P Morley, S P Nunn, N G F Shaughnessy, R H Siddall, W Stamp, C Swain, Mrs M E Thompson and Miss S White.


Against the recommendation:

Councillor C Morris.



Councillors M G Bassenger, N J Skeens and J Stilts.


The Chairman announced that the recommendations had therefore been agreed.




(i)              That Mr Keith Lawson, the nominated candidate put forward by the Heybridge Basin Parish Members to replace Councillor B E Harker be approved;


(ii)            That Councillor Miss A M Beale be appointed in addition to the position of a Heybridge Basin Parish Councillor, to allow a greater opportunity for the Parish Council to be quorate should any future issues with Member attendance arise;


(iii)          That the filling of all other associated Committee and Outside Body seats and positions be deferred to the Statutory Annual Council meeting on 5 November 2020.

[1] Council – 5 November 2020

Publication date: 22/10/2020

Date of decision: 01/10/2020

Decided at meeting: 01/10/2020 - Council

Accompanying Documents: